Things I’ve Done And Experienced

  • I’ve played trombone in a college marching band that performed at a major college football bowl game (1975 Tangerine Bowl) and at Disney World.

  • I’ve hugged a pom pom girl after my team won in a a major college football bowl game.

  • I’ve played trombone with my high school marching band as then President Richard Nixon drove by and stopped to shake hands.

  • I’ve been awakened a few times by coyotes howling outside my window in suburban Cleveland, Ohio.

  • I’ve fired a number of classic World War II pistols and rifles such as the M1 Garand, 1903A1 Springfield, 1911 Browning .45, the British Enfield and the Swedish version of the German Mauser. (I don’t own any of them, but my brother does.)

  • I’ve dated a girl from Paris, France.

  • I’ve dated a former high school homecoming queen and queen of her senior class.

  • I’ve taken two and three girls simultaneously on dates and have been accused of having ‘harems’ at least three times.

  • I’ve been aboard the museum ships U.S.S. New Jersey, U.S.S. Olympia, U.S.S. Little Rock, U.S.S. The Sullivans, the U.S.S. Cod and two other World War II submarines.

  • Among other places, I’ve visited the Cleveland, Toledo and Cincinnati Art Museums, the U.S. Air Force Museum, the Smithsonian Institution, the New York and Cleveland Museums of Natural History, Independence Hall in Philadelphia, the Washington Monument, the John F. Kennedy graveside and the Gettysburg battlefield.

  • I’ve listened in person to a number of my favorite trombonists: Urbie Green, Jim Pugh (when he was with the Woody Herman orchestra), Slide Hampton, Steve Davis, Doug Wright and Bill Watrous.

  • I’ve watched history made on TV as I watched John Glenn on his first orbital flight, the first moon landing with Apollo 11, the first shuttle launch and both the Challenger and Columbia disasters while they were happening, several JFK news conferences, the JFK and Ronald Reagan funeral processions, the Vietnam War and both Gulf Wars, most of the presidential debates since the Gerald Ford/Jimmy Carter debates in 1976, among all the reporting of history as it is happening to us today.

  • I’ve been challenged as I left my workplace by a Secret Service agent — then Vice President Al Gore was half a block away during his 2000 presidential campaign.

  • I’ve started at least four novels and have a few short stories also sitting around.

  • I’ve had the privilege of preaching the Word of God at least 500 times.

  • I’ve had the privilege of leading at least 500 people through a prayer to receive Christ as Lord and Savior.

  • I’ve read through the Iliad and the Odyssey a number of times in the original language. Other classical works I’ve read in the original language include the Odes of Horace, the poems of Catullus, Plato’s Gorgias, and portions of Aristophanes, Sophocles, Aeschylus, Euripedes, Sappho, Archilochos, Herodotus, the Aeneid of Virgil, and the Republic of Plato.

  • I read through the New Testament several times a year in the original language.

  • I’ve read through most of the Old Testament in the original language.

  • I’ve touched a Super Bowl ring.

  • I’ve touched an SR-71 Blackbird.

  • I’ve run six minute miles and bench pressed over 250 pounds throughout my late thirties and forties.

  • I’ve interviewed with NASA to program software for the space shuttle.

  • I’ve handled one of the ceramic thermal tiles from one of the space shuttles. The tiles are about five inches square, feel like fiberglass or Styrofoam, and have a hard black surface on one side.

  • I’ve talked several people out of committing suicide.

  • I’ve turned Cicero’s First Oration Against Catiline into Cicero’s First Oration against the Latin Teacher on Exam Day – and the teacher loved it!.

  • I’ve been part of at least one medical study.

  • I’ve created a set of costume Roman armor from memory and worn it in front of a church congregation of over 1000.

  • I’ve been on the local TV news both after the June 18, 2002 fire which hit my apartment building and before and during the my victim witness statement at the trial of the arsonist.

  • I’ve taken a number of standard psychological tests which demonstrated my sanity — which proves that you can’t always go by standard psychological tests ;-).

  • I’ve performed several weddings although I’ve never been married myself.

  • I’ve been an alternate juror on a possible death penalty case.

  • Advertisements

    Leave a Reply

    